ASPIRE Athlete Of The Week: May 16, 2014: Kiela DeVlaeminck

WCCO | CBS Minnesota

MINNEAPOLIS (WCCO) — Kiela DeVlaeminck can pitch, and her Waconia High School softball team has a chance when she’s on the mound.

It’s pretty obvious that she started playing the sport at a young age.

« I was about six, I think. I remember going to a camp, and they put a water bottle on like a garbage can tipped over, and they’re like, ‘Hit it,' » DeVlaeminck said. « And I hit it. And they actually paid me a dollar. So I think that was kind of my inspiration I guess. »

Coach Audra Lehrke says she’s not surprised.

« At practice sometimes, I’ll have something out there, I’ll say, ‘Hey, you guys need to hit this,’ and she’ll get it usually, » Lehrke said. « And some of the girls are like, ‘What? How did you get that?' »

DeVlaeminck leads her Waconia team with a .559 batting average. And she’s also their best pitcher.

« What…

View original post 124 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

