My HomeLab: how I did it – Part II

It's just about networks

Everything is setup and cabled.
Time to plug the console cable (at least, for the initial setup), and prepare the switches.

1) Port mapping
First of all, I’ll report the port layout of my various switches, to make the configs easier to read.
My Breakout switch has its interfaces configured as follows:
– port 24 is the uplink to my pc
– ports 13-16 are dedicated to OOB setup
– ports 1-12 are dedicated to « break out » the traffic coming from the PC, to the real switches
INE books I’m using contemplate 6 routers connected to real switches, an each router has either one or two physical interfaces to be connected. For maximum symmetry, I assume EACH of the six routers should have TWO interfaces connected to switches.

Switches 1-4 are configured as follows:
– port 24 is dedicated to out-of-band management, via telnet (if you use a recent-enough switch…

View original post 1 129 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

