How can we fix America’s broken telecommunications industry?

Fortune

On a Wednesday afternoon in late April, two days after Comcast repaired my residential Internet service, the phone service suddenly and inexplicably went out.

This meant I could not call 911 in case of emergency and our alarm system’s signal no longer went to the monitoring station. Although I live halfway between the technology hotbeds of San Francisco and Palo Alto in what many might call an upscale area, cell reception at my house is nonexistent. So in 2015, in the heart of Silicon Valley, and with no natural disaster, I was cut off from communicating with the outside world unless I drove about a half-mile up the hill to where one could access a cell phone signal.

Comcast [fortune-stock symbol= »CMCSA »], my telephone service provider, initially promised to restore service in no sooner than three days. When I contacted the mayor of Hillsborough, Calif., the town where I live, he…

View original post 1 402 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

