Turned down for a summer internship? Here’s why

Fortune

Dear Annie: I’m starting my junior year of college in the fall, majoring in business, and I finally just heard from the fourth company where I applied for a summer internship. They, like the other three, turned me down. When I asked why, I was told I lack the skills they are looking for. Now I’m confused, because I thought the whole point of an internship was to learn skills you don’t already have. I have two older sisters who got internships without any skills at all.

So I’ll be spending the summer (again) working in my family’s hardware store, which is okay, but I don’t think it’s helping my resume. What can I do to increase my chances of getting an internship next year? — Bummed in Birmingham

Dear Bummed: Unfortunately for you, snagging an internship has become a lot tougher than it was when your allegedly skill-free siblings…

View original post 548 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

